2017 APSARD Lifetime Achievement Award

The American Professional Society of ADHD and Related Disorders (APSARD) presents the Lifetime Achievement Award recognizing distinguished and exemplary long-term contributions to the scientific research and clinical practice of Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder and related conditions across the lifespan. Long-term is defined as a career spanning no less than twenty-five years. Current APSARD Board Members are not eligible for the award.

Russell A. Barkley, Ph.D.
Medical University of South Carolina

barkleyRussell A. Barkley, Ph.D., is a Clinical Professor of Psychiatry at the Medical University of South Carolina.  He is a Diplomate (board certified) in three specialties, Clinical Psychology (ABPP), Clinical Child and Adolescent Psychology, and Clinical Neuropsychology (ABCN, ABPP).  Dr. Barkley is a clinical scientist, educator, and practitioner who has published 23 books, rating scales, and clinical manuals numbering 41 editions.  He has also published more than 270 scientific articles and book chapters related to the nature, assessment, and treatment of ADHD and related disorders.  He is the founder and Editor of the bimonthly clinical newsletter, The ADHD Report, now in its 20th year of publication.  Dr. Barkley has presented more than 800 invited addresses internationally and appeared on nationally televised programs such as 60 Minutes, the Today Show, Good Morning America, CBS Sunday Morning, CNN, and many other programs on behalf of those with ADHD.  He has received awards from the American Psychological Association, American Academy of Pediatrics, American Board of Professional Psychology, Association for the Advancement of Applied and Preventive Psychology, American Professional Society for ADHD and Related Disorders, New England Educational Institute, the Wisconsin Psychological Association, and Children and Adults with ADHD (CHADD) for his career accomplishments, contributions to research in ADHD, to clinical practice, and for the dissemination of science.  His websites are and

2017 Journal of Attention Disorders Best Paper of the Year Award

The American Professional Society of ADHD and Related Disorders (APSARD) presents the JAD Best Paper Award of the Year by the Awards Committee to the author(s) of a paper published within the calendar year in the Journal of Attention Disorders that has made an important and scholarly contribution to the science of Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder.
The APSARD Award Committee will review the papers submitted to the Journal of Attention Disorders for the 2016 year.

Current Mood Symptoms Do Not Affect the Accuracy of Retrospective Self-Ratings of Childhood ADHD Symptoms
Katie Grogan1, Jessica Bramham1⇑
1University College Dublin, Ireland

 bramhamJessica Bramham is an Associate Professor in Clinical Neuropsychology at the School of Psychology, University College Dublin. As an undergraduate, she studied Natural Sciences at Cambridge University, then completed a Doctorate in Clinical Psychology followed by a Ph.D. in Neuropsychology at the Institute of Psychiatry, King’s College London. Jessica worked as a clinical psychologist in the Neuropsychiatry Department at the Maudsley Hospital and coordinated the UK National Adult ADHD Service. Jessica moved to University College Dublin in Ireland in January 2008 as a clinical academic. Her main research area is adulthood ADHD and its co-morbidities.


groganKatie Grogan (B.A.) is a final year doctoral researcher and occasional lecturer at University College Dublin, under the supervision of Associate Professor, Jessica Bramham. Her Ph.D. research topic is entitled, “Why are adults with ADHD likely to develop anxiety disorders? An investigation of risk factors, measurement techniques, and impact on neuropsychological functioning,” and is funded by the Irish Research Council Government of Ireland Postgraduate Scholarship. She has published articles relating to adulthood ADHD and cormorbidity in journals such as Journal of Attention Disorders and ADHD, and has presented at conference such as UK Adult ADHD Network’s (UKAAN) 4th Congress, London and the 5th World Congress of ADHD, Glasgow. Katie has also worked as a member of a multidisciplinary team at a specialist adult ADHD assessment clinic at St. Patrick’s University Hospital, Dublin since January 2015. She received training on adult ADHD diagnostic techniques by UKAAN in October 2016. Katie’s research interests focus on implementing recent empirical findings into clinical practice in a way that betters the diagnostic process and prognostic outcome for adults with ADHD.


2017 Travel Award

The American Professional Society of ADHD and Related Disorders (APSARD) offers travel grants to its 2017 Annual Meeting, January 13 – 15 in Washington, D.C. The grants offer an opportunity to attend an outstanding scientific program for students and trainees with an interest in ADHD research and clinical care.

Travel Grant Awardees

Toral Desai, M.D.
University of Virginia

Heather Joseph, D.O.
University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine

Saniya Kibria, M.D.
New York – Presbyterian Hospital

John Leikauf, M.D.
Stanford University School of Medicine

Tyler Sasser, Ph.D.
Seattle Children’s Hospital

Monique Simpson, M.D.
Western Psychiatric Institute & Clinic/UPMC

Kayla Wagner, B.S.
Syracuse University

Judith Fernando, M.D., M.P.H.
Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center

Past Award Recipients

2016 Award Winners

Best Paper in the Journal of Attention Disorders Award
Frank P. MacMaster, Ph.D.
Best Paper: Cortical Thickness in Young Treatment Naïve Children with ADHD

Travel Grant Awardees
Lisa Adler, MD
Adam Bied, MD
Larry Mitnaul, MD, MPH, MS
Bernard Mulvey
Gregory Sayer, MD
Nataly Sumarriva, MD
Michael Vitulano, MA
Allison Young, MD

2015 Award Winners

APSARD Achievement Award
Doug Kelsey, MD, PhD

Best Paper in the Journal of Attention Disorders Award
Margaret Semrud-Clikeman, PhD, LP, ABPdN
Best Paper: Volumetric MRI Differences in Treatment Naive and Chronically Treated Adolescents with ADHD-Combined Type (JAD, 18(6),511-520)

Travel Grant Awardees
Lindsey Gurin, MD
Arundhati Undurti, MD, PhD