

APSARD Business Meeting and Awards Presentation Minutes Marriott Wardman Park, Washington, DC January 20, 2019 8:15 am – 9:00 am Thurgood Marshall Ballroom, Marriott Wardman Park, Washington, D.C.

- 1) Call to Order– Joseph Biederman, APSARD President, called the meeting to order at 8:23am EDT.
- 2) APSARD Committees, J. Biederman recognized the APSARD committees and thanked them for their efforts throughout 2018. J. Biederman encouraged members to volunteer for one of the following committees in their mission:
 - a. Awards Committee: Sam Goldstein, Chair. This committee is responsible for reviewing the Best Paper in Journal of Attention Disorders Award.
 - b. Education Committee: Lenard Adler and Anthony Rostain, Co-Chairs. This committee seeks to further the educational aims of APSARD.
 - c. Psychosocial Subcommittee: Tom Brown and Jeanette Wasserstein, Co-Chairs. This committee seeks to further the educational aims of APSARD while focusing on diagnostic tools, treatments, and other evidence-based practices from the perspective of the psychologist and primary care background
 - d. International Committee: Iris Manor, Chair. This committee works to bring more international exposure and attendees to the Society and the Meeting.
 - e. Membership Committee: *Greg Mattingly, Chair; Roberta Waite, Co-Chair. This committee works to retain and increase APSARD membership.*
 - f. Nominating Committee: Mark Stein, Chair. This committee conducts and oversees the processes of nomination and election of the Directors and Officers of the Board of Directors, every two years
 - g. Program Committee: Steve Pliszka, Chair. This committee is responsible for reviewing all program submissions for the APSARD Annual Meeting.
 - h. Website/Social Media Committee: Russell Ramsay, Chair. This committee supplies content for the APSARD website and works to grow APSARD's social media presence, facilitates blogging activity by Board Members, and coordinates with speakers and conference poster presenters on submitting topics and discussion summaries for blogs.
- 3) Membership Report- Greg Mattingly provided an update on the APSARD membership statistics. The Membership Committee introduced the Ask the Experts webinars as a new membership benefit in 2018. APSARD currently has 347 members which reflects a 14% increase in membership year-over-year. It was also noted that the membership retention is at 75% proving that APSARD is successfully retaining existing members in tandem with new

member recruitment. G. Mattingly encouraged members to take the APSARD member recruitment business cards and refer a colleague to become a member.

- 4) Treasurer Report- J. Biederman provided a financial updated on behalf of Martin Katzman, APSARD Treasurer. J. Biederman reported that the society is financially stable. It was noted that APSARD's main sources of revenue for 2018 were educational grant funding for the annual meeting, corporate support, and annual meeting registration. APSARD has increased its current assets significantly in the last five years. In 2018, the society invested a portion of its reserves to create diverse revenue streams to aid in financial stability. It is through this financial growth that we can further APSARD's mission.
- 5) 2019 Annual Meeting Report- Steven Pliszka recognized the 2019 Program Committee for their service to the Annual Meeting. The 2019 Annual Meeting had 428 attendees from 36 states and 13 countries. It was noted that the committee hopes to increase clinically relevant sessions for future meetings. S. Pliszka recognized the companies that supported the 2018 Annual Meeting through corporate support or educational grants. The APSARD Program Committee will continue to develop the APSARD Annual meeting both financially and scientifically year-over-year. S. Pliszka recognized the members of the Program Committee as follows:
 - Joseph Biederman, M.D.
 - Scott Kollins, Ph.D.
 - Frances Levin, M.D.
 - Kathleen Nadeau, Ph.D.
 - Jeffrey Newcorn, M.D.
 - Luis Rohde, M.D.
 - Russell Schachar, M.D.
 - a) S. Pliszka thanked APSARD's corporate supporters
 - a. Platinum Sponsors: Ironshore and Shire
 - Silver Sponsors: Akili Interactive and Otsuka
 - Bronze Sponsor: KemPharm and Supernus Pharmaceuticals
 - b) S. Pliszka thanked the following companies for their generous educational grant funding
 - Pfizer
 - Shire
 - Sunovion
 - Supernus Pharmaceuticals

6) Education Committee Update -

- a) Anthony Rostain provided an update on the Education Committee initiatives. ADHD in Adults has been active for over five years and has over 40,000-page views and 130,000 YouTube views. A task force is currently working on developing Quality Measures which is an endorsement of guidelines for quality of care.
- b) The 2019 Travel Awardees were recognized as follows:
 - (a) Anne Arnett, Ph.D., University of Washington
 - (b) Laura Eddy, Ph.D., University of North Carolina Greensboro
 - (c) Weam Fageera, M.Sc., McGill University
 - (d) Jonathan Hess, Ph.D., SUNY Upstate Medical University

- (e) Agnieszka Mlodnicka, Ph.D., MIND Institute, Dept Psychiatry, University of California Davis Sch Med
- (f) Michael Tate, M.A., City College of New York
- (g) Lea Taylor, B.A., Syracuse University
- (h) Kelsey Wiggs, B.A., B.S., Indiana University

7) APSARD Leadership

- a. J. Biederman recognized the following individuals for their re-elected term on the APSARD Board of Directors:
 - Lenard Adler, M.D.
 - David Goodman, M.D.
 - Greg Mattingly, M.D.
 - Andrew Nierenberg, M.D.
 - Mary Solanto, Ph.D.
 - Roberta Waite, Ed.D.
- b. J. Biederman introduced the following incoming APSARD Board of Directors members:
 - Kevin Antshel, Ph.D.
 - Jacob Behrens, M.D.
 - At the conclusion of the Business Meeting, these board members and officers will officially take their seat on the board.
- c. J. Biederman thanked the board members rotating off the APSARD Board of Directors and presented plaques to those in attendance:
 - Sandra Kooij, M.D., Ph.D.
 - Iris Manor, M.D.
 - Russell Ramsay, Ph.D.
 - Thomas Spencer, M.D.
- d. J. Biederman thanked all of the APSARD Board of Directors for their contributions to APSARD this year.
- e. J. Biederman introduced the newly established Advisory Council. This group of people will work to advise the APSARD Board of Directors.
 - Mark Stein, Ph.D., Past President and Chair
 - Phil Asherson, FRCPsych
 - Sandra Kooij, M.D., Ph.D.
 - Iris Manor, M.D.
- 8) J. Biederman adjourned the meeting at 8:50 am.